SOUTHWARK COUNCIL

COUNCIL ASSEMBLY

(ORDINARY MEETING)

WEDNESDAY 24 NOVEMBER 2021

PROGRAMME MOTION

The order of business and timings for the evening will be as follows:

Time	Business
19:00 – 19:10	1. Preliminary business and announcements
19:10 – 19:25	Late Motion 7 - Transport for London funding
19:25 – 19:30	2.2 Public question time
	Emma Dobinson
19:30 - 20:30	Themed debate
	3.1 Community Evidence
(25 minutes – 4	Emma Trueman, Global Generation
minutes' speech)	Jack Skillen, Team London Bridge
	Southwark Youth Parliament
	Jeremy Brackpool
	Alan Jones, Sustainable Energy 24 (SE24)
	3.2 Motion on the Theme
(7 minutes)	1. Councillor Helen Dennis, Cabinet member for Climate Emergency and Sustainable Development
(5 minutes)	2. Councillor Adele Morris, opposition spokesperson, to speak on the motion and move Amendment A
(20 minutes)	3. Themed debate open to all other councillors
(3 minutes)	4. Cabinet member's right of reply to the debate
20:30 - 21:00	4. Deputation requests
	Living Streets and Southwark Cyclists
	Pauline Nandoo, Southwark Day Centre for Asylum Seekers
	Hadi Sharifi, British Afghan Society
21:00 - 21:20	Motion 2 - Responding to the Afghan Refugee Crisis and Supporting Refugees and Asylum Seekers (cross-party)
21:20 – 21:55	5.1 Members' Question Time
(5 minutes)	Late questions
(15 minutes)	Members' questions to the leader
(15 minutes)	Members' questions to the cabinet
21:55 – 22:15	5.2 Motions
	Motion 1 - A Roadmap for Clean Streets in Southwark
	Motion 3 - Refusing Unsafe Building Developers
	Motion 4 - Youth Democracy
	Motion 5 - UNESCO World Heritage Status for Borough, Bankside and
	the Wider Area
	Motion 6 - Centenary Celebrations for Ada and Alfred Salter (cross-party)

Time	Business
22:15*	6. Reports
	6.1 New civic award - Diversity
	6.2 Treasury management - mid-year update 2021-22
	6.3 Waiver of six month councillor attendance rule - section 85 of local
	government act 1972
	6.4 Re-appointment of independent person
22:15*	Closed session (only if required for debate)
	8 Re-appointment of independent person

* subject to the guillotine rule; maximum 15 minutes debate per item. **Note:** Any time left remaining on any item will be rolled into the next items.

That the meeting be conducted as follows:

Guillotine

To extend the guillotine by 15 minutes to 10.15pm

Item 3 - Themed debate

Community Evidence Submissions

To receive submissions from the groups listed in the themed section of the agenda:

- Emma Trueman, Global Generation
- Jack Skillen, Team London Bridge
- Southwark Youth Parliament
- Jeremy Brackpool
- Alan Jones, Sustainable Energy 24 (SE24)

Format

A four minute presentation from the group.

Themed debate

To run as listed in the timings above.

Item 4 - Deputations

That the meeting agree to hear deputations from:

- Living Streets and Southwark Cyclists
- Pauline Nandoo, Southwark Day Centre for Asylum Seekers
- Hadi Sharifi, British Afghan Society

(Five minutes to speak; deputation question to relevant cabinet member, one question from each group)

Item 5.2 General motions:

Each motion to have a single debate, subject to the guillotine.

That the meeting agree to **vary the order of business** to hear Motion 2 after item 4: Deputation requests.

That the meeting agree to **accept** late Motion 7.

That the meeting agree to **vary the mover** of Motion 3 to Councillor Dan Whitehead That the meeting agree to **vary the seconder** of Motion 5 to Councillor Damian O'Brien

That the meeting agree to vary the seconder of Motion 6 to Councillor Eliza Mann

That the meeting agree to vary the mover of Amendment F to Councillor Nick Johnson

That the meeting agree to **vary the seconder** of Amendment F to Councillor Hamish McCallum